About Mahzor Nuremberg
The giant, ornamental Nuremberg Mahzor contains the prayers for the whole year, according to the Ashkenazi rite, the five Megillot and the Haftarot. It includes also a comprehensive collection of commentaries on the piyyutim (liturgical hymns) and prayers, written in the margins. The manuscript was written in Ashkenazi calligraphy in the year 1331 in Germany by a scribe, clearly identified as Matanya, for Yehoshua ben Yitzhak. The commentaries in the margins, however, were written by another scribe, whose name was apparently Yaakov. The manuscript’s nickname derives from the fact that since the expulsion of the Jews from Nuremberg in 1499, it was held in the Nuremberg Municipal Library until 1951.
It is the combination and juxtaposition of a number of unusual and sometimes unique aspects that make this manuscript so special.
Click the image below to access the site